Presidential Search Opens; Call to Prayer Begins

Presidential Search Opens; Call to Prayer Begins

July 12, 2013

June 2013 Update

The search for Sioux Falls Seminary's next president is underway as President Mike Hagan prepares to begin sabbatical leave in July.  A few months earlier than initially planned, the leave will provide Hagan with the necessary time for reflection and renewal before exploring another ministry opportunity.  A public open house will be held in honor of Hagan and his time at Sioux Falls Seminary on Friday, September 27, 2013, from 4-6:00 p.m. in the lobby at Sioux Falls Seminary.

An Interim Oversight Team consisting of three local Board of Trustees members will work with the President's Cabinet to lead the seminary in the immediate future. 

As we open the search for the future leader of Sioux Falls Seminary, we ask that you join us in prayer.  All seminary friends are invited to pray earnestly about the choice of the seminary's next president.  Alumna Lenore Lang is leading the prayer effort for the seminary community.  She shares, "In his word, our Lord encourages us to pray:  'Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you'  (Matthew 7:7).  Please join us in our call to prayer and share this information far and wide with as many people as the Lord lays upon your heart."

Now Seeking Candidates and Nominations

The Presidential Search Committee asks you to consider your possible involvement in the process by joining the seminary community in prayer, by nominating a potential candidate, or by submitting an application.

A presidential search document has been prepared and is available online at or by download below.  It provides basic information about Sioux Falls Seminary and the search process, including instructions for submitting nominations or applications.

Download: Presidential Search Document

To receive full consideration for the position, formal applications must be submitted in Word or .PDF format to no later than September 1, 2013.