Now Enrolling: Sioux Falls Seminary Center for Lifelong Learning

Now Enrolling: Sioux Falls Seminary Center for Lifelong Learning

August 28, 2009

Sioux Falls Seminary is excited to announce its newest endeavor to provide Christ-centered continuing education to the community.

Established in 2009, the Sioux Falls Seminary Center for Lifelong Learning offers coursework in a variety of areas, including Bible, theology, Christian community development, ministry, and more. Seminars and courses offered through the Center for Lifelong Learning will all have convenient scheduling, whether nights, weekends, or online.

The first two programs being offered are the Certificate in Christian Ministry and Discipleship Sioux Falls. Both programs are now enrolling students and begin in October. Center for Lifelong Learning offerings do not require any undergraduate work and coursework will not result in graduate credit.

As an extension of the Sioux Falls Seminary's vision, the center's mission is to provide lifelong Christian education, and enrich and equip the lives of Christian leaders for today and into the future. Sioux Falls Seminary will continue to add programming to the center's offerings --- ranging from one-day seminars to additional certificates.


Discipleship Sioux Falls
Discipleship Sioux Falls will begin on Monday night, October 5. The program is designed to teach individuals about the Christian story and the role they play within it. Discipleship Sioux Falls seminars will take place on the first Monday of each month from 6-9:00 p.m. beginning in October and going through May. Below are the tentative subjects and dates for 2009-2010 Discipleship Sioux Falls program.

Monday, October 5, 2009
Old Testament: Creation, Covenant, Sinai, and Zion

Monday, November 2, 2009
New Testament: The Early Church

Monday, December 7, 2009
Christian Heritage: The Reformation and Today

Monday, January 4, 2010
Theology: The Trinity

Monday, February 1, 2010
Spiritual Formation: Our Response to the Gospel

Monday, March 1, 2010
Christian Ethics: How our Beliefs Influence our Life Choices

Monday, April 5, 2010 Missions and Evangelism: Our Story in the Great Commission

Monday, May 3, 2010
Christian Ministry: The Future of the Church . . . The Present Future

Saturday, May 22, 2010
Contextualizing your Story: Next Steps in the Call
Graduation Ceremony


Certificate in Christian Ministry
The certificate is designed for those seeking theological and practical training for service in Christian ministry. It gives students exposure to the basic core concepts and skills necessary for day-to-day Christian ministry. Those interested in the Certificate in Christian Ministry may enroll for the entire program to earn a certificate or the in individual seminar(s) of choice.

Coursework for the Certificate in Christian Ministry will begin Saturday, Oct. 17 with an introductory seminar. The remainder of the course schedule is as follows:

Saturday, Nov. 14 -- Old Testament
Saturday, Dec. 12 -- Sermon Preparation
Saturday, Jan. 16 -- New Testament
Saturday, Feb. 13 -- Responsible Use of Scripture
Saturday, March 13 -- God, Christ and Humanity
Saturday, April 10 -- Pastoral Care
Saturday, May 15 -- Leading Worship
Saturday, June 26 -- Mission of the Church
Saturday, July 17 -- Church Leadership and Administration


Under Development
A Certificate in Community Development is also in the works. This program will be beneficial to pastors and local community members involved in revitalization and redevelopment.


For More Information
To learn more about the application process for these offerings, to find out about costs, or to discover other educational opportunities at the seminary, call 800.440.6227 or send e-mail info@sfseminary.edu.

visit the site